This is an archive of the old PisteHors.com forum

News | Gear | Ski Areas | Hiking | Mountain Biking
Powered by Google™

Guided or unguided tours
Posted: 09 May 2009 04:57 AM  
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2009-05-08

I have been touring the Sierras in California for many years, and am considering a Haute Route trip.
After reading O’Connors’ book I wanted more first-hand accounts from people who’ve done it
I’m looking for opinions of people who’ve skied the Haute Route tours, either guided or unguided, regarding the necessity of guides.
Thanks,
Greg Turk
Carlsbad, CA
USA

Posted: 09 May 2009 08:59 PM   [ # 1 ]  
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2234
Joined  2003-10-24

I will point this thread out to KenR who has done the HR a couple of times and probably has some good advice.

Posted: 10 May 2009 11:26 PM   [ # 2 ]  
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  270
Joined  2008-01-31

Yes I’ve done the Chamonix-Zermatt HR twice, both times without a guide. Both times we had good weather and snow conditions. Both times we were not committed to doing the whole thing, just what parts we had good weather for.

But that was a few years ago. I hear it’s gotten more popular since then. So just negotiating with the guardians of the huts could be much easier with a guide. (and if you’re going to go with a guide, I recommend getting them as _local_ as possible—there’s plenty of good English-speaking European guides: local knowledge of the current state of glaciers matters, and local knowledge of alternatives for bad weather matters).

The Chamonix-Zermatt Haute Route crosses lots of crevasses (unlike the Sierras), and a couple of pass crossings which are technnically more difficult than most passes in the Sierras. (I’ve skied the whole “red line” from south of Mt Whitney to north of Yosemite, also the “Sierra High Route")
If you’re not sure how you’ll handle crevasse-fall hazard and steeper passes, you should go with a guide.