This is an archive of the old PisteHors.com forum

News | Gear | Ski Areas | Hiking | Mountain Biking
Powered by Google™

ABS on Plane
Posted: 26 December 2010 01:11 PM  
Rank
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2010-12-24

Hi all, I’m new to Pistehors, apologies in advance if this subject has been covered before. I have an ABS Freeride rucksack and normally drive to the Alps so not an issue, however this season I am planning to fly with it to Geneva, Easyjet and also Munich Lufthansa. What do I need to do re flying with it? There seems lots of best advice about, but has anyone actual experience of this, and whats best to do, ie Carry sack onboard as handluggage like a normal rucksack, with canister in checked-in baggage?

Comments greatfully received!

Posted: 26 December 2010 08:09 PM   [ # 1 ]  
Rank
Total Posts:  13
Joined  2010-01-02

There are a number of threads on this topic on snowheads forum. My personal strategy is to place the canisters and triggers inside my boots (check-in luggage) and the backpack inside a my main suitecase. I dont bother to call the airline ahead of time or let the ground staff know, as they either dont know what i am talking about,dont know what to do or dont care? At worst i think (hope) your cannisters and triggers will be confiscated or you may be asked to discharge them; cost circa 30euro.

Posted: 27 December 2010 11:02 AM   [ # 2 ]  
Rank
Joined  2010-12-24

Thanks, this assumes that you are carrying ski boots in a separate boot bag I guess, I tend to put mine in main hold bag. Do you think it’d be ok to carry the ABS sack and put the canister/ trigger in main hold luggage as above, or is this just highlighting the sack?

Posted: 27 December 2010 11:42 AM   [ # 3 ]  
RankRank
Total Posts:  45
Joined  2010-01-22

As ace1 said it’s probably worth having a look on snowheads as there is a lot of info there (although there is no problem at all discussing it here I think).