This is an archive of the old PisteHors.com forum

News | Gear | Ski Areas | Hiking | Mountain Biking
Powered by Google™

Pieps Freeride Transceiver
Posted: 28 January 2010 10:49 PM  
Rank
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2010-01-28

The Pieps Freeride seems pretty appealing to me as it is cheap, lightweight and designed for the sort of skiing I do (lift served).

However, seeing as I come from a mountaineering background, there is a possibility that in the future I will buy touring gear, and do some skiing that isn’t lift served, If I do this, will I regret not buying a multi antennae beacon?

At present I have limited beacon experience (1 practice search with an Ortovox X1). Based on that experience I think that I could quickly get the hang of slowly sweeping a single antennae beacon in front of me to pick up and follow a flux line.

So my question’s are..

1. If you turned up to go skiing with me, and I told you that I had a Pieps freeride, but not to worry because I had practised using it, how would you feel?

2. How easy is it to use a Freeride once you have spent some time getting used to it?

(I’m particularly interested in answers from people who have practiced searching with a Freeride).

Thanks.

Posted: 29 January 2010 04:05 PM   [ # 1 ]  
RankRank
Total Posts:  34
Joined  2005-05-26

If I was you I would feel chuffed as I will have a 3 antenna transceiver and find you slightly quicker.  If I was me I would feel cheated as I was getting a less than optimal search from a less quick unit that might give a little problem at the pinpoint phase of a search.

The Freeride is a good affordable unit with emphasis on affordable. A dual antenna unit is better, and 3 is much,much better.  Its like comparing a Pentium 1 running windows 95 to an iBook or Dual core processor on windows 7. Both work, - but..!

Signature 

http://www.crankitupgear.com
http://crankitupgear.blogspot.com/

Posted: 29 January 2010 10:53 PM   [ # 2 ]  
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2234