News | Gear | Ski Areas | Hiking | Mountain Biking
Powered by Google™

1 of 2
which boots?? touring or downhill?
Posted: 28 January 2010 11:02 PM  
Rank
Total Posts:  15
Joined  2009-12-27

I am thinking of buying some new boots but cannt afford two pairs.  The question is wether to go for a downhill boot - as I spend MOST of my time on the pieste but also go off pieste a fair amount.  But, I am now thinking that I would like to do a bit of backcountry skiing, away from the crowds and maybe some ski mountainerring.

the question is - Is there a boot out there which will suit both of my needs?

I know NOTHING about touring boots.

Any advice would be welcome

Posted: 28 January 2010 11:07 PM   [ # 1 ]  
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  60
Joined  2008-11-16

I think some of the heavy duty freeride boots like those by Black Diamond (BD Factor) would serve your purpose, they are pretty heavy like alpine boots but offer superior walking experience… I’m no expert either in boots but I was looking at these in Snell in Chamonix today and thinking it’s just like an alpine boot with a walk mode… hang on, didn’t they all have that years ago?

On the other hand why not invest the most in some touring boots since alpine boots are pretty cheap

Posted: 28 January 2010 11:21 PM   [ # 2 ]  
Rank
Total Posts:  15
Joined  2009-12-27
Dan Fascia - 28 January 2010 11:07 PM

On the other hand why not invest the most in some touring boots since alpine boots are pretty cheap

350 Euro for a pair of boots - I wasnt sure if thats cheap....

then I am going to need another pair.....

Posted: 29 January 2010 01:09 PM   [ # 3 ]  
Rank
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2008-03-20

I think Scarpa and Garmont both do boots that are a ‘hybrid’. They are stiffer than a touring boot but softer than a piste boot. They also have changeable tongues and soles in some models. They might suit what you are looking for but they are not really touring boots. The Scarpa Spirit 4 (or similar) may well cope with both schools.