This is an archive of the old PisteHors.com forum

News | Gear | Ski Areas | Hiking | Mountain Biking
Powered by Google™

Monte Rosa-Alagna/Chamonix Guide Suggestions
Posted: 05 March 2009 04:41 AM  
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2009-03-05

I am looking to do some touring around Monte Rosa and Chamonix.  Does anyone have any suggestions for guides who speak English. 

I have been back country skiing in the Eastern Sierra Nevada of California for 15 years.  The past three years have been on AT gear. I am an expert skier, but not well versed in glacial terrain.

Thanks,

Ricky Bobby

Posted: 05 March 2009 05:06 AM   [ # 1 ]  
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  270
Joined  2008-01-31

I’m not sure exactly what sort of skiing you’re hoping to to, but I feel pretty confident there’s no shortage of English-speaking guides around Chamonix, and I’d expect there’s several around Alagna / Monte Rosa.
If all else fails I guess I’d just contact the guide services that advertise for the area you currently want to ski.
My thinking is that the best policy for skiing is to hire a local Alagna guide for Alagna, and a local Chamonix guide for Chamonix.

Ken

Posted: 05 March 2009 10:09 AM   [ # 2 ]  
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2234
Joined  2003-10-24

Check out Chamex in Argentiere too:

http://www.chamex.com/

Posted: 06 March 2009 09:42 AM   [ # 3 ]  
Rank
Total Posts:  15
Joined  2008-10-08

Yves Salino is Chamonix based, and he’s great. I’ve used him several times, and I’ll be going on the Haute Route with him in two weeks.
Contact him on: ; or have a look at his website:
http://www.exploraider.com/team.asp

Posted: 06 March 2009 04:36 PM   [ # 4 ]  
RankRankRankRank
Joined  2008-01-31

I was very impressed with Rick Marchant.