This is an archive of the old PisteHors.com forum

News | Gear | Ski Areas | Hiking | Mountain Biking
Powered by Google™

Anyone tried camping in a ski resort
Posted: 22 August 2008 03:52 PM  
Rank
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2008-08-20

I am a skint student who wants to skiing this winter and am considering camping to save on cost. Has anyone tried it, if so what is it like, any advice. I will probabaly be going to chamonix or the espace killy.

Posted: 23 August 2008 03:47 AM   [ # 1 ]  
RankRank
Total Posts:  40
Joined  2008-03-27

I spent a couple weeks car camping under the midi in Chamonix before I found a place to live, that was January ‘07 .  There is a small gravel parking lot, about a block behind the Tram dock and directly under the lift line, you’ll find a few dozen people doing the same thing.  Never hassled, met lots of great people who showed me around.  I was coming from Alaska so the cold wasn’t really an issue.

http://www.dongshow-productions.com

Signature 

Dongshow Productions

Posted: 31 August 2008 12:25 AM   [ # 2 ]  
Rank
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2008-07-25

I’ve heard of a quite a few people getting campavans and just rocking up at ski resorts and then moving on and following the snow. If you mean with a tent though, I’m not quite as sure thats a good idea!

Signature 

http://www.plooka.com
Love the Mountains - Love Plooka!

Posted: 02 September 2008 02:51 AM   [ # 3 ]  
Rank
Total Posts:  11
Joined  2006-10-28

Yep did in a couple of resorts in Wisconsin USA for a couple of days.  Didnt have any problems.  If you are not used to the cold or dont have the equipment I dont recommend it.  People looked at me quite wierd brewing coffee on a camp stove while they pulled in from a warm night in a Hotel.  But oh well.  Good Luck

Posted: 02 September 2008 02:13 PM   [ # 4 ]  
Rank
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2008-09-02

Hey Newbie, My buddy camped out for a whole season in 1999/2000.